Board of Directors

Atty. V. Van Johnson III, President


Van Johnson, a former sergeant in the Springfield Police Department, is currently a practicing attorney with Raipher, P.C. in Springfield. His practice focuses on business transactions and commercial and residential real estate. Van brings to the board both legal expertise and an intimate knowledge of the Springfield community. 

Tom McColgan, Vice President


Tom is a vice president for commercial real estate at TD Bank, where his work is almost exclusively focused on low-income housing and new market tax credits. 

Formerly the director of housing and economic development for the City of Springfield, Tom has more than 35 years of real estate development and lending experience. 

Chris Sugrue, Treasurer


 Chris brings 18 years of commercial lending experience as well as commercial real estate transactions to the board. He is currently the vice president of commercial lending at bankESB, previously at TD bank. Chris began his career as a boarding officer with the United States Coast Guard. He has volunteered with numerous local community groups and was the past treasurer of the Holyoke Chamber of Commerce. 

Jennifer Gable, Board Member


Jenna is the CFO/Controller at Specialty Bolt & Screw, Inc. in Agawam. Her accounting expertise makes her a great addition to Home City’s board. Jenna is the Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Holyoke Community Charter School. Additionally, she is  a Certified Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault councilor and volunteers as a Medical Advocate for YWCA of Greater Springfield.  

Andrew Balder, Board Member


Dr. Balder is an internist working in community health with a strong interest in homelessness, community development and services to the poor. Board certified in internal medicine and pediatrics, he is former medical director

for the Mason Square Neighborhood Health Center and senior medical director for the Boston Medical Center HealthNet Plan in Springfield. 

Loleta Collins, Board Member


Loleta is the Manager of Resident Services, Resident Assistance Office at Springfield Housing Authority and brings to our Board 20 years of experience and progressive success in various aspects of non-profit and government funded programs. 

She has worked to engage the community and business professionals on the advantages of homeownership amongst low-income populations and has managed various projects designed to help families eliminate barriers to becoming economically self-sufficient. 

Adam Gomez, Board Member


Adam is the Springfield Ward 1 City Councilor. He is a lifelong resident of Springfield’s North End, a business owner, and a community activist for the past eight years. 

Adam is an elected member of the New North Citizens Council and a member of the Springfield Puerto Rican Parade Committee. He is a Founding Brother of the Epsilon Chapter of Gamma Phi Sigma Fraternity Inc. Before owning his own company, Adam worked for the YMCA and the Bilingual Veterans Outreach Center.

Steve Daury, Board Member


Steve’s early experience as a commercial lender made his involvement on the Home City board a natural fit when asked to join almost two decades ago. He currently serves as a Certified Financial Planner in Northampton for Daury Wealth Management, LLC. He is a member of the Estate Planning Council of Hampden County and has served as an instructor for the Center for Financial Training of Southern New England. 

Kyle Callendar, Board Member


Kyle brings his expertise in the building industry to the HCDI board. He has been the primary owner of a local for-profit building company in Western Massachusetts for almost ten years. A Springfield native and active community member, Kyle believes that investing in local real estate is a critical tool for Springfield’s economic growth. Kyle gives back to the community as an academic administrator, coach and an adviser for underserved urban youth. His philanthropic endeavors extend the community through his service to local ministries/ community groups. He has served in various capacities since childhood and currently volunteers to local community cornerstones for the Western MA Community.